Future Decisions

Well, this year is flying by. Hope it’s not a United Airlines flight, hehe.

Anyway!

So, lately I’ve been questioning my future. It was about November/December last year when I started to realise that psychology isn’t my passion but rather theology and church work. I’ve felt called to work in the body of Christ for quite a long time now but yeah, I eventually came to the conclusion that psychology and counselling just isn’t my passion and desire for my future at the same level anymore.

As this desire started to wane, my desire to study theology and do church work began to grow exponentially until my passion for it began to consume me. I eventually decided that maybe next year, instead of doing my Honours degree in psychology, I’d do TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) and add the Theology modules to my degree, saving time and money from doing another full-time 3 year degree.

This idea came up from a discussion with the Theology lecturers, one of whom is my friend, and my mentor Sandy (also the TESOL lecturer). At this point Sandy mentioned that she could see the Lord calling me into full time ministry and said that it might not be a bad idea for me to apply to do a part-time internship/apprenticeship at my church. At this point, I should mention I’m not looking to become a pastor or a preacher. I just really, really, really, REALLY want to do the will of God and spread the truth of His word to all people.

Anyway, back on track. So, I was intrigued by this idea of the internship. I was mulling it over and over. I prayed for some clarity on this and then arranged for a meeting with my student pastor Matt in order to talk this over, see how it would play out, etc.

Anyway, so come Wednesday afternoon and I’m sitting with Matt in his lounge and I just start talking about all of this when I see he’s trying to hide a smile. He tells me that he’s actually been meaning to set up an appointment with me to discuss interning at the church for a few weeks now but something always seemed to get in the way. How’s that for God’s handiwork? #NoCoincidencesWithJesus

So, we sat there talking about how this all would work next year when Matt proposed the idea of me doing the internship full time for 2 reasons:

1-Splitting studies and internships to part-time projects doesn’t allow for excellence in either.

2-Doing it full time would allow for me to see what area of ministry I really feel called to and thus inform my further study decisions.

We came to the arrangement that every week, we’d meet for a Bible study for the next while so that he can get to know me better and perhaps gain some insight if the internship is the right move for me, what ministries would I be best fit for if at all, etc. So I guess right now, my current trajectory is to go into a church internship and serve full time at the church. What a change from doing Psychology Honours!

Oh, something that you all might find interesting is this course by Ravi Zacharias International Ministries (say that 3 times quickly) online academy on apologetics and evangelism. I’m hoping to do it soon as a tester because I quite like apologetics and that stuff so we’ll see. Here’s a link if you want to check it out!

Otherwise, have a good weekend every body! Walk in grace and peace 🙂

2 comments

  1. Brother, this is wonderful news. I’ glad to hear that the meeting went well. I’ll be praying for you as you journey in serving the Lord.

    Like

Leave a Reply

