A Brief Poem

Lord

You stand over me

Your arms over my life

Your cross over my sin

 

At every turn, with every

calamity, every trial

I rely on my own flesh and bones

I turn on my own brokenness

 

These storming waters, these tense and

trying times, you hold out your hands

to hold me, carry me, love me.

I feel apprehensive, hesitant

Yet my rope frays and comes to the end

I have no lifeline but you

Yet my mind cries against my heart

 

I know it is good to trust you

to rely on you.

I want to lay down my arms

to surrender to you.

 

Help these hands to cease their

efforts.

Help this frail body to cease its

striving.

 

Open my heart to see your

face of love.

To know that my fears are gone

To know that you are my Protector

My Redeemer – My God

Leave a Reply

